CCU is chartered, registered, and Licensed by the Government of Belize – Ministry of Education:

Columbus Central University is authorized and chartered by the Government of Belize. Belize has a two-tier government system, with a state government and a local government. In recent years, the government has been granting more power and independence to local councils, and mayors are now directly elected. Belize’s local government includes two city councils, seven town councils, and numerous village and community councils. The capital, Belmopan, also has its own city council.


The World Health Organization (WHO) is a UN agency that serves as a leading authority in global medical education coordination. The WHO’s Human Resources for Health (HRH) is currently enhancing the World Directory of Medical Schools, which was previously accessible through the WHO website. 

The World Federation of Medical Education places its files under the World Directory of Medical Schools, including the schools of medicine. Refer to the below-mentioned link to get the details. For further information, please follow the link provided below.

World Directory of Medical Schools

Medical Council Of Canada (Mcc)

The Medical Council of Canada (MCC) provides a medical qualification called the Licentiate of the Medical Council of Canada (LMCC) to medical graduates who fulfill the necessary requirements. To be eligible for LMCC, a graduate must pass both the Medical Council of Canada Qualification Examination (MCCQE Parts I and II). 

For international medical graduates, passing the Medical Council of Canada Evaluating Examination (MCCEE) is a mandatory requirement to take the MCCQE Part I exam. Graduates of CCU are eligible to take MCCQE Parts I and II and apply for the LMCC. 

Those interested in Canadian medical licensure can get in touch with our Academic Department or the Medical Council of Canada directly for further details. 

United States Medical License Examination (USMLE)

The USMLE is a professional exam that medical doctors must pass before practicing medicine in the United States. It is sponsored by the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) and the National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME). There are three steps to the USMLE, and all three must be passed before M.D. graduates can apply for a medical licence in the United States. CC has met all ECFMG requirements and is authorized to allow its students to take the USMLE.

Educational Commission For Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG)

The US Department of Education recognizes the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG) as the official agency for evaluating credentials and guiding non-US physicians and graduates of non-US medical schools who want to practice or apply for US residency programs. ECFMG provides information and resources on licensure, USMLE, residency programs and recognition. 

To obtain ECFMG certification, candidates must meet the following conditions: pass USMLE Step 1 and USMLE Step  Clinical Knowledge exams, fulfill the requirements for clinical and communication skills, and hold a medical diploma from a school listed in the World Directory of Medical Schools (WDOM). Meanswhile, graduates of medical schools in the US must also pass USMLE Steps 1 and 2, but can participate in the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP) while still in their final year of medical school, before obtaining their medical diplomas. 

For further information, it is recommended to visit the official website of ECFMG or get in touch with them directly. 

Medical Council of India (MCI)

The Medical Council of India is a legal organization responsible for establishing and maintaining high standards for medical education and credentials in India. Its primary function is to register doctors to practice medicine in India to maintain proper standards in healthcare and protect the health and safety of the public. 

For more information, please contact the US information office.